Tuesday, January 01, 2008

2008 gets off to an exciting start

As you all know, I am not a fan for the most part of New Years Eve. It is common to call it "amateur night". Imbecility is everywhere as everyone is just randomly crossing the street.  But it was an exciting night.

I have a bit of a cold as I am probably seeking some sort of attention. Put on my tuxedo as I wanted to be dressed like Sasha (she is a Tuxedo cat).

Was a bit annoyed with the parking situation but I did manage to find a spot. Since I was in a tuxedo the people on the street assumed that I was in charge and I explained the parking the regulations (they had to move their car before 2AM according to the sign).

Felt out of sync at the party so I went for a walk and I saw many people acting the fool. It was like the whole city was on something when I was looking for parking.
Was going to call it a night and drive home and toast in 2008 on the 280 but I saw TWO standard poodles in the Fisherman Wharfs area so I darted over.

They were visiting dogs and I told their person about Noel and how Standard Poodles are my favorite. This was a good omen, so I was in a far better mood and went back to the party and had a WAY better time. In fact it was a great night so the Standards were really a good omen. Its amazing how things change when you are in a better mood : )
Discussed Math and class size and the M&M Math Problem.
Elle, Will and Meg showed up. Quite a few people are trying to talk me into a full marathon and to them I say NO in 2008. They start by telling me how if they could do it, I could do it. Then they go through their list of injuries from running a FULL marathon.

As I was sober as a judge (those commercials that show people driving with liquid in their car prevented me from drunk driving..) I provided a ride to the Divisiadero/California area.

This is where it gets exciting and provided a moral question. At an intersection I saw a guy fall backward from the sidewalk and hit his head hard on the bumper of a parked car. Freaked out a bit and it took some time to process what was going on so I made a right and called 911. A car in front of me was stopped at an intersection. At this point my imagination was running wild.

I explained the situation as best I could when the 911 operator got on the line. She scolded me for not stopping to offer assistance and I agreed to drive back to where this happened.

With her on the line I drove back to Divisidario to when this happened. I saw the guy holding his head sitting on the stoop with his buddy. I told them that I was on the horn with 911 and if they needed assistance. The buddy waved me off and thanked me for my concern.

Now here is my question, should I have stopped as soon as I saw this? Remember I did not know why the guy fell backwards and well, I have an active imagination.


Drive home as I had the first 10K of 2008 in Palo Alto.

As I mentioned that I have a bit of a cold, so I did not sleep well.

Woke up and drove to Palo Alto. I was tired and I had a cold plus my runs from last week SUCKED and was considering ditching it OR running the 5K OR at a slow pace but I got the icy hot on my legs and ran it. I totally surprised myself with a great time of 59:03 which is a pace of 9:27. I am now 994 miles away from my goal for the year...
<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase=" http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" width="198" height="145" id="Nike+ Runs" align="middle"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain" /><param name="wmode" value="transparent" /><param name="movie" value=" http://nikeplus.nike.com/nikeplus/v1/swf/scrapablewidget/rundetail.swf" /><param name="quality" value="high" /><param name="bgcolor" value="#ffffff" /><param name="FlashVars" value="type=individualRun&userDefaultUnit=mi&screenName=hydra1970&dateFormat=MM/DD/YY&id=1357306387&region=us&language=en&locale=en_us"/><embed src=" http://nikeplus.nike.com/nikeplus/v1/swf/scrapablewidget/rundetail.swf" quality="high" wmode="transparent" bgcolor="#ffffff" width="198" height="145" name="Nike+ Runs" align="middle" allowScriptAccess="sameDomain" FlashVars="type=individualRun&userDefaultUnit=mi&screenName=hydra1970&dateFormat=MM/DD/YY&id=1357306387&region=us&language=en&locale=en_us" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage=" http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></embed></object>

Afterwards I felt great and was in good clear mood. Then I saw another Standard Poodle : )

Went to downtown Palo Alto where I used my Longs coupon but I realized that it was for February but they took it.

Went to Plutos for lunch. That is my favorite chain.

Normally this would be the lead story but I finally used my coupon at Target to get my XBox 360.

Saw Walk Hard in Daly City. I am not a fan of parking garages if I am not near an exit and it is too busy.
This is a very funny movie and I downloaded the soundtrack. Would like to have
Jenna Fischer on the bus.









--
Marcus Zack Ronaldi
My LinkedIn  Profile
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/0/67/264

My Facebook Profile
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=705175300

I am running the USHalf on 11/4 to raise money for Parkinsons
http://www.firstgiving.com/hydra1970

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home